Morning Buzz
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

Beethoven 250 Houston 2020

Kristóf Baráti, violin

 

Beethoven 250 Houston 2020 brings the worldwide celebration of the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig von Beethoven—one of the great figures in the history of Western art, born in 1770 in Bonn, Germany - to the city of Houston in February 2020. Two weeks of concerts and symposia on the University of Houston campus will include performances of Beethoven’s music by internationally renowned guest artists with Moores School of Music faculty and students; a three-day symposium hosted by the Texas Society for Music Theory and the Southwest Chapter of the American Musicological Society and including recent scholarship on the music of Beethoven; and appearances by six of the world’s leading Beethoven scholars for lectures, keynote addresses, workshops, and seminars.

Performances take place on the University of Houston campus in Moores Opera House, Moores School of Music Room 160 and Dudley Recital Hall. See specific performance locations and times here.

Dates: 
Monday, February 17, 2020 (All day)
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 (All day)
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 (All day)
Thursday, February 20, 2020 (All day)
Friday, February 21, 2020 (All day)
Saturday, February 22, 2020 (All day)
Sunday, February 23, 2020 (All day)
Monday, February 24, 2020 (All day)
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 (All day)
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 (All day)
Thursday, February 27, 2020 (All day)
Friday, February 28, 2020 (All day)
Saturday, February 29, 2020 (All day)
Price: 
Ticketed events $10-$15. There are many free non-ticketed events. Check website for details.
Phone number: 
7137433388
Venue: 
Moores School of Music - UH
Address: 
3333 Cullen Blvd
Houston, TX 77204

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.