Morning Buzz

Victory in the SFL

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
Southwest Football League’s (SFL) Texas Longhorns

Southwest Football League’s (SFL) Texas Longhorns

The Southwest Football League’s (SFL) Texas Longhorns (pictured) defeated the LSU Tigers in the sophomore division championship. Winning the final game was a true team effort with outstanding efforts from each player. Kannon Wright and Ken Tanaka each scored two touchdowns, and Nathan Hubbard had a game-changing interception to ice the game. After losing the first game of the season, coach Ray Wright credits the team coming together and a strong defense for producing the championship win. The winning Longhorns are (top row) coach Ray Wright; (bottom row, from left) Josiah McHale, Taylor Royston, Kannon Wright, Kyle Schoener, Ken Tanaka, Caesar Grant, Charlie Swallen and Nathan Hubbard.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.