Photo Contest

SFL Longhorn victory

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
Southwest Football League’s (SFL) junior Longhorns

Southwest Football League’s (SFL) junior Longhorns

Southwest Football League’s (SFL) junior Longhorns (pictured) defeated the Cougars to win the division championship. The Longhorns came out strong on defense after winning the coin toss and deferring to the second half. When they took possession, the Longhorns quickly scored with a touchdown run by Jayden Chargois. Later in the second half, after a 40-yard touchdown by Chargois, Preston Gorski made the 2-point conversion to bring the final score to 20-8. The Longhorns ran out the clock and ended with the victory formation. The Longhorn champs are (bottom row, from left) Barrett Bedortha, Luke Stewart, Case Lindsay, Preston Gorski, Kolbe Keeler, Jack Lawrence, Jovany Serrano, (middle row from left) Miles Harper, Willem Stoett, Jayden Chargois, Hunter Hazen, Alexander Fefer, Brooks Parker, Nick Starling, Merrick Frye and Mario Cerros; (top row, from left) head coach Christian Bedortha and defensive coordinator Sam Stewart; not pictured: assistant coaches Tony Hazen and Jeff Gorksi.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.