2024 Photo Contest Winners

Undefeated Tully Bowl champs

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
SBMSA War Eagle football team

SBMSA War Eagle football team (Photo: Matt Bennett)

The SBMSA War Eagle football team (pictured) won the varsity-tackle Tully Bowl championship with a 30-14 win over the Gamblers. After finishing an undefeated regular season, the team met the Gamblers, also undefeated, to fight for the win at Tully Stadium. The War Eagle offense was led by three touchdowns from running back Baron Selph and a 40-yard touchdown pass from Conrad Bennett to Parker Welty. Defense came on strong with numerous tackles and Conrad Bennett’s impressive fourth-quarter interception. The champs are (top row, from left) coaches Brannon Dillard, Brian Fowler, JP Bennett, James Robertson, Michael Robertson and Chad Perniciaro; (middle row, from left) teammates Connor Dillard, Slava Limcher, Baron Selph, Jack Fowler, Conrad Bennett, Cade Perniciaro, Lewis Brazelton, Cooper Hutcheson, Will Kuersteiner, Trever Caylor, Rocco Russo, Dylan Moyal; (bottom row, from left) Patrick Fowler, Robbie Robertson, Zack Nielsen, Parker Welty, Luke Fuller, Bennett Rabel, West Peacock and Dominic Mandola.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, or Twitter. Or you may post as a guest.