2024 Photo Contest Winners

LAX Champs

Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
2030 Iron Horse Houston Lacrosse Team

2030 Iron Horse Houston Lacrosse Team

The 2030 (expected graduation year) Iron Horse Houston Lacrosse Team won the Adrenaline Texas Thrive Tournament held in San Antonio. The lacrosse boys from Houston beat an 8-team field comprised of both 2029 and 2030 teams. The team went 2-1 in pool play before winning a sudden-death overtime game in the semifinals by a score of 4-3. Iron Horse Houston won the championship game by a score of 3-0. The team was paced all weekend with strong goaltending, controlling the faceoffs, tenacious defense, and balanced scoring. The team was coached by Al Christopher and David Cohn (pictured, back row, from left). Iron Horse Houston 2030 Team played in the Blackjack Classic in December, just outside of Las Vegas against a highly competitive field of Mountain and Pacific Coast lacrosse teams. Pictured (from left) are Ory Barton, Grant Summers, Henry Hamner, Gray Johnson, Coleman Hill, Knox Barron, Dylan Bellinger-Spivey, Zach Peters, Winn Pritchard, Everett Berg, Jacoby Hobbs, George Jamail, John Page, Ford Prescott, Aidan Reed, Zach Wellins, and Finley Cook.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, or Twitter. Or you may post as a guest.