Morning Buzz

Overtime victory at Tully Stadium

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
SBMSA varsity tackle Buckeyes

SBMSA varsity tackle Buckeyes (Photo: Doug Durkee)

The SBMSA varsity tackle Buckeyes (pictured) are Tully Bowl champs. After a strong regular season, the Buckeyes met the No. 1-seeded Cobras in the championship game, which was a defensive battle. With a score of 0-0 at the end of regulation, the Buckeyes scored with an overtime quarterback keeper by Anthony Voinis. During the next possession, Shane Finn caused a fumble in the Cobras’ backfield, and Cash Porter recovered to secure the Buckeyes’ victory, 6-0. The winning Buckeyes are (top row, from left) coaches Matt Lenhart and Lance O’Pry; (middle row, from left) William Carl, Anthony Voinis, Shane Finn, Carson Moerer, Beckett Lenhart, Emmanuel Rodriguez, Robbie Robertson, Johnathan Joseph Jr., Walker O’Pry, Conrad Bennett, Cash Porter, Philip Bandy, George Gring, Gavin Storey, Roman Gambino, Miles Comarda, Jack Fowler, Pate Lee and Evan Jones; (bottom row, from left) coaches JP Bennett, Michael Robertson, James Robertson and Brian Fowler; not pictured: Joseph Mata.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, or Twitter. Or you may post as a guest.