Morning Buzz

From HJPC to SFL

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
Southwest Football League (SFL) Shamrocks-Blue

Southwest Football League (SFL) Shamrocks-Blue

The Southwest Football League (SFL) Shamrocks-Blue team (pictured) won the senior-division championship with a 28-18 victory over the Shamrocks-Orange team. Most of the team’s players attend Annunciation Orthodox School and normally play in the Houston Junior Preparatory Conference (HJPC). When the HJPC fall season was canceled, they decided to join SFL. Other HJPC teams also opted for an SFL season, creating a competitive environment for all. The championship game went back and forth, and the Shamrocks-Blue pulled ahead after recovering two onside kicks on consecutive kickoffs. The SFL champs are (top row, from left) coach Tucker Fowler, Ashton Bell, Matthew Bonasso, Porter Garza, Jackson Skaife, Maddux El-Hakkam, Lucas Mensing, Nico Broyles, Carson Fowler, coach Paul Posoli, and coach Brad Sanders; (middle row, from left) Jay Woodhouse, David Henry, Nolan Pursley, Sloan Rippstein, Lane Bumgarner, Jack Bumgarner, and Daniel Makulski; and (bottom row) Chrysanthos Fetokakis

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, or Twitter. Or you may post as a guest.