Private School Directory
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

1877 Elissa Tall Ship Sail Training

Join the Galveston Historial Foundation for a sail training program on the 1877 Elissa Tall Ship. (Photo courtesy of Galveston Historical Foundation)

Sail training on ELISSA gives the participants the once-in-a-lifetime chance to sail onboard a historic sailing ship from 1877 and literally, sail history! Don’t think you are a climber? No problem, we have needs for people of all abilities. ELISSA’s sail training is an adventure activity for people of all ages and abilities. Young and older folks alike can find camaraderie and a rewarding experience either in ELISSA’s rigging or on her decks.

ELISSA is sailed and lovingly maintained by a dedicated group of volunteers that work and train year-round. If you have longed to hoist a sail on a historic tall ship, now is your chance. Please join us for an introductory meeting for potential crew members scheduled for 1 pm on Saturday, July 31, 2021, at the Galveston Historic Seaport on Galveston’s Pier 22, Harborside Drive between 21st and 22nd streets.

Those who participate in the ELISSA Sail Training program have the opportunity to learn ancient skills and techniques on maintaining a square-rigged sailing ship. Volunteers may learn to climb ELISSA’s rigging to set and furl sails and maintain the intricate machinery of wood, wire, and rope. These tasks require skill and bravery, as the ship’s main mast towers 99 feet above deck. After completing the classes, which take place on designated Saturdays, and contributing the required hours of work on the ship’s upkeep, participants are eligible to take ELISSA to sea.

ELISSA was originally a 19th-century British cargo ship and specialized in calling at smaller ports of the Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico and twice loaded cotton at Galveston. It was this local connection, and the authenticity of her iron hull, that led Galveston Historical Foundation (GHF) to purchase the vessel, then a cut-down motorship, and undertake her restoration. Today, ELISSA is one of only three pre-20th century sailing vessels in the world that have been restored to full sailing capacity. Designated by the National Park Service as a National Historic Landmark, ELISSA was named the “Official Tall Ship of Texas” in a resolution signed by Governor Rick Perry on June 2005.

The 2021/2022 schedule is as follows:

July 31 : Orientation (Fun Muster)
August 14 : Class 2
August 28 : Class 3
September 4: Class 4
September 11: Class 5 (Fun Muster)
September 25: Class 6
October 9 : Class 7
October 23: Class 8
October 30 : Class 9 (Elissa’s Birthday Party)
November 13 : Class 10
November 20 : Class 11
December 4: Class 12 (Dickens on The Strand)
December 18: Class 13
January 8: Class 14
January 22: Class 15 (Chili Cook-off)
February 5: Class 16
February 12: Class 17
March 5: Class 18
March 19: Class 19
March 26: Class 20 (Graduation)
April 2: Make Ready
April 6 – April ? : Day Sails Times and Schedule TBD 

Dates: 
Saturday, August 14, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, August 28, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, September 4, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, September 11, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, September 25, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, October 9, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, October 23, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, October 30, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, November 13, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, November 20, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, December 4, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, December 18, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, January 8, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, January 22, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, February 5, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, February 12, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, March 5, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, March 19, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, March 26, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, April 2, 2022 (All day)
Price: 
Free
Venue: 
Galveston Historic Seaport
Address: 
Pier 22 Suite, #8
Galveston, TX 77550

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.