Private School Directory
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

FotoFest 2022 Biennial Festival: 'Entwined' by Paul Swen


As part of the FotoFest 2022 Biennial festival, the City of Bellaire and the Bellaire Culture and Arts Board presents a breathtaking exhibition featuring photographic imagery from artist Paul Swen.

As part of the FotoFest 2022 Biennial festival, the City of Bellaire and the Bellaire Culture and Arts Board presents a breathtaking exhibition featuring photographic imagery from artist Paul Swen. Swen’s work is known for deep sensitivity combined with bold and emotional expression that push traditional photography well beyond the expected. The latest compilation features work that highlights natural beauty and the complexity of the interaction of man.  Entwined showcases Swen’s 20-year intimate relationship with Africa, the wildlife, land, and culture. The show premieres Sept. 24, 2022, at the Bellaire Civic Center.  

The featured works are derived from decades of expeditions throughout the wild lands Africa. Each piece will give attendees a strikingly up-close and rarely seen look at threatened species and traditional cultures. Many of the works, some larger than life-sized, will unveil new approaches that marry the living, breathing emotion of the wild with the coolness of industrial, man-made materials. 

Swen is a Texas born artist whose passion for culture and travel has sent him exploring the planet to more than 30 countries, creating imagery and sculptures for galleries, international clientele, and collectors.  His interest in conservation began in earnest in 1998 on his first journey to the savannas of Tanzania. The depth of beauty and struggle became an immediate and continuing source of inspiration. Since that time, he has led numerous expeditions and conservation projects around the globe to explore and protect the cultures and wildlife that he so cherishes.

Schedule: 

Friday, Sept. 23, Special Preview, 5-9 p.m. 
Sat., Sept. 24, Grand Opening, 4-8 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 25, 1-5 p.m. 
Tues., Sept. 27: By appointment
Weds., Sept. 28: By appointment
Fri., Sept. 30, Bellaire Sip and Stroll, 5-8 p.m.    
Sat., Oct. 1, 1-6 p.m. 
Sun., Oct. 2, 1-5 p.m. 
Tues., Oct. 4: by appointment
Weds., Oct. 5: by appointment
Thurs., Oct. 6: by appointment
Fri., Oct. 7, 5-8 p.m.     
Sat., Oct. 8, 1-6 p.m. 

Dates: 
Friday, September 23, 2022, 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm
Saturday, September 24, 2022, 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Sunday, September 25, 2022, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 (All day)
Friday, September 30, 2022, 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Saturday, October 1, 2022, 1:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Sunday, October 2, 2022, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, October 6, 2022 (All day)
Friday, October 7, 2022, 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Saturday, October 8, 2022, 1:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Phone number: 
713-667-4448
Venue: 
Bellaire Civic Center
Address: 
7008 South Rice Avenue
Bellaire, TX 77401

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.