Morning Buzz
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

Free American Sign Language Class for Beginners

American Sign Language Class for beginners is offered as a service to the community in partnership with NewSpring and the Deaf Ministry of Chapelwood United Methodist Church. Classes will be taught by Sheila Johnstone who has been teaching ASL classes in Houston since 1995. Her students range from family members of the deaf to teachers, doctors, nurses, lawyers, employers of the deaf and anyone who is interested in learning this beautiful language.  

These classes are FREE; all we ask is that you purchase the course book for $35. (NewSpring will order.) This class will be a 10-week course in ASL I and then students will be able to progress to ASL II and ultimately ASL III classes.  

The ASL I class begins on Oct. 4; registration is open through Oct. 3. Register here.

Questions? Email [email protected].  

NewSpring is a nonprofit, 501©(3), faith-based organization, serving the Spring Branch and West Houston communities. Our mission is to Elevate Lives and Lift Communities.

Event type: 
Dates: 
Tuesday, October 4, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, October 11, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, October 25, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, November 1, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, November 8, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, November 15, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, December 6, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Tuesday, December 13, 2022, 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm
Price: 
Class is free; purchase the course book for $35
Venue: 
Chapelwood United Methodist Church, Room Number: Williams Rm. 203
Address: 
11140 Greenbay St.
Houston, TX 77024

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.