2018 Holiday Gift Guide
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

The ICE powered by Green Mountain Energy

The ICE at Discovery Green

Every winter, Discovery Green hosts an ice skating rink including fun, special events. (Photo: Katya Horner)

The ICE is the largest outdoor ice skating surface in the Southwest. Discovery Green uses water from Kinder Lake to freeze the ice, and all equipment runs on Green Mountain Energy’s renewable energy, ensuring The ICE is environmentally friendly and sustainable.

Cheap Skate Nights

Mondays, Nov. 26–Dec. 17, 2018; Jan. 7–14, 2019, 5–10 p.m.

On select Mondays this winter, glide around The ICE at Discovery Green for just $8 per person or $15 for a pair (includes tax and skate rental).

Game On

Tuesdays, Nov. 19, 2018–Jan. 22, 2019, 7–9 p.m.

Skating games are twice as nice when played on The ICE. Sign up to play a variety of games in the middle of the rink during a 15-minute intermission. Games vary but include hockey, broomball and more.

Break The ICE Date Nights

Wednesdays, Nov. 28, 2018–Jan. 16, 2019, 7­–9 p.m.

Bring your date for a romantic night under the downtown Houston skyline. This special date night features live music by Jawad on Nov. 29, Dec. 12 and Jan. 16.

Funfetti Fridays

Fridays, Nov. 23, 2018–Jan. 25, 2019, 7–9 p.m.

DJ Mohawk Steve, a light show and other festive elements make for fun Friday nights.

Skate with Santa and More!

Saturdays, Nov. 17, 2018–Jan. 26, 2019, 5–6 p.m.

Children of all ages are invited to skate with Santa Claus (through Dec. 22) and other favorite characters, including Spider Man, Queen Elsa, Wonder Woman and more.

Skating with the Stars

Sundays, Nov. 18, 2018–Jan. 27, 2019, 6:30–6:45 p.m.

On Sundays this winter, Houston’s top figure skaters perform demonstrations on The ICE. No program on Dec. 2 and 16, 2018, or Jan. 13, 2019.

Dear Santa

Nov. 17–Dec. 23, 2018, during ice rink hours

Enjoy a picture-perfect winter scene for children to write a postcard to Santa, and deposit it onsite in a large, iconic red mailbox.

Event type: 
Dates: 
Friday, November 16, 2018, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, November 17, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, November 18, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, November 19, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Tuesday, November 20, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Wednesday, November 21, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Thursday, November 22, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Friday, November 23, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Saturday, November 24, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, November 25, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, November 26, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, November 27, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, November 29, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, November 30, 2018, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, December 1, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, December 2, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, December 3, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, December 5, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, December 6, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, December 7, 2018, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, December 8, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, December 9, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, December 10, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, December 11, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, December 12, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, December 14, 2018, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, December 15, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, December 16, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, December 17, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, December 18, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, December 19, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, December 20, 2018, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, December 21, 2018, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, December 22, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, December 23, 2018, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, December 24, 2018, 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tuesday, December 25, 2018, 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Wednesday, December 26, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Thursday, December 27, 2018, 11:00 pm
Friday, December 28, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Saturday, December 29, 2018, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, December 30, 2018, 11:00 am to 7:00 pm
Monday, December 31, 2018, 11:00 am to 7:00 pm
Tuesday, January 1, 2019, 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Wednesday, January 2, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Thursday, January 3, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Friday, January 4, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Saturday, January 5, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, January 6, 2019, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, January 7, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, January 8, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, January 9, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, January 10, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, January 11, 2019, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, January 12, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, January 13, 2019, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, January 14, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, January 15, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, January 16, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, January 17, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, January 18, 2019, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, January 19, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, January 20, 2019, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Monday, January 21, 2019, 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Tuesday, January 22, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Wednesday, January 23, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Thursday, January 24, 2019, 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Friday, January 25, 2019, 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Saturday, January 26, 2019, 11:00 am to 11:00 pm
Sunday, January 27, 2019, 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Price: 
General public: $11 admission, $4 skate rental
Venue: 
Discovery Green
Address: 
1500 McKinney
Houston, TX 77002

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.