Morning Buzz
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

Mi Casa, Your Casa Installation

Mi Casa, Your Casa

Discovery Green’s new art installation, Mi Casa, Your Casa by Esrawe + Cadena, features 16 glowing house-like play structures where visitors are invited to sit, swing, and relax together. (Photo: Shawinigan - Creos)

Discovery Green’s new art installation, Mi Casa, Your Casa by Esrawe + Cadena, features 16 glowing house-like play structures where visitors are invited to sit, swing, and relax together. The Opening Night celebration takes place on Sat., Oct. 8, 6-10 p.m. and will include performances such as acrobatic dance group Lifted by Mimbre.

Mi Casa, Your Casa 2.0 public art programming sponsored by Houston Association of REALTORS®

Opening Night 
Saturday, Oct. 8, 6-10 pm.
Celebrate Mi Casa, Your Casa 2.0’s opening night with an evening of art, inspiration, and fun featuring:

Lifted by Mimbre
Saturday, Oct. 8, 7 – 7:35 pm and 9 – 9:35 pm 
Sunday, Oct. 9, 12-12:35 pm and 2:30-3:05 pm

UK all-woman acrobatic dance on US debut tour. Lifted explores the funny, poetic and surprising moments when one body is carried by another.  With funding from the Humphreys Foundation and the City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance. 

President’s Mural – Discovery Green from A to Z
Live performance action painting by Ange Hillz to sounds spun by DJ Monstaa and live piano played by DJ Pee Wee from The Too Laid Back Band.

Other Mi Casa, Your Casa 2.0 events to enjoy

ROCO On the Go
Daily during Mi Casa, Your Casa 2.0 Oct. 8 – Nov. 14
Enjoy a “Houston Strong” playlist courtesy of ROCO while enjoying the Mi Casa, Your Casa art installation. The playlist features Houstonian composers and works inspired by Space City, in ROCO's "Houston Strong" playlist you’ll hear music inspired by fantasy, outer space, the journey of life to death, nature, light and darkness, and the voices of women. Composers represented include: Brad Sayles, Isabelle Ganz, Marcus Maroney, Karim Al-Zand, Paul English, Pierre Jalbert, Brad Sayles, Isabelle Ganz, and Anthony DiLorenzo. The playlist will be accessible through QR code onsite.

Houston Pride Quintet
Friday Oct. 14, 7 – 9 pm

Gamelon of the New Moon
Friday, Oct. 21, 7 – 9 pm
Enjoy traditional Indonesian music performed live.

Kids in the Casa with Crafts
Saturdays, Oct. 8, 15 & 29, 1:30 – 3 pm
Enjoy fun hands-on arts, crafts and activities inspired by history, culture, art, music, architecture and the city itself. (While supplies last.)

Oct. 8
Create a Casa with Girlstart STEM
Kids will create a mini casa using toothpicks and gumdrops. (Limited to 100 participants.)

Oct. 15
Encanto
Sing and Dance-along with Encanto characters Isabela, Mirabel and Dolores

Oct. 29
Connecting through Culture
Enjoy cultural crafts created by exhibitors visiting our city from different parts of Mexico.

Dates: 
Saturday, October 8, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, October 9, 2022 (All day)
Monday, October 10, 2022 (All day)
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, October 13, 2022 (All day)
Friday, October 14, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, October 15, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, October 16, 2022 (All day)
Monday, October 17, 2022 (All day)
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, October 20, 2022 (All day)
Friday, October 21, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, October 22, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, October 23, 2022 (All day)
Monday, October 24, 2022 (All day)
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, October 27, 2022 (All day)
Friday, October 28, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, October 29, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, October 30, 2022 (All day)
Monday, October 31, 2022 (All day)
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, November 3, 2022 (All day)
Friday, November 4, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, November 5, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, November 6, 2022 (All day)
Monday, November 7, 2022 (All day)
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 (All day)
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 (All day)
Thursday, November 10, 2022 (All day)
Friday, November 11, 2022 (All day)
Saturday, November 12, 2022 (All day)
Sunday, November 13, 2022 (All day)
Monday, November 14, 2022 (All day)
Price: 
Free
Venue: 
Discovery Green
Address: 
1500 McKinney St.
Houston, TX 77010

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.