2022 Buzz Photo Contest Winners

Aggieland champs

Angie Frederickson
Click the Buzz Me button to receive email notifications when this writer publishes a new article or a new article in this column is published.
Dragons lacrosse team

Dragons lacrosse team

After an exciting weekend in College Station, the Spring Branch-Memorial Sports Association (SBMSA) Dragons lacrosse team (pictured) are Aggieland champs. The girls traveled from Houston and faced tough opponents at the annual competition held at Texas A&M University. During the weekend, the Dragons played five games. The first game ended in a tie, and the Dragons went on to sweep the rest of the tournament with four wins, including the championship win over Cy Fair. In the championship game, tournament MVP Courtney Whittaker scored on a behind-the-back shot in the second half to seal the victory. The champion Dragons are (top row, from left) Sadie Jackson, Ava Ableson, Kelsy Donovan, Luisa Llaneva Avogadro, Micah Thames, Maren Jackson, Ava Golden, Olivia Blissard, Brynn Derrick, Talley Cohan, Sophia Judd, coach Ted Owen, coach David deLemos, (bottom row, from left) Keira Donovan, Sassy Huff, Eliya Gibson, Parker Wetmore, Courtney Whittaker, Caroline Peterson, Amanda Stinson, Kendall Adam, and Maddie Box.

Editor’s note: Send your best high-resolution photos and behind-the-scenes stories about young local athletes, in both team and individual sports, to SportzBuzz, Jr. at [email protected]. Include all contact info, names, ages, grades and schools. Featured athletes must live in Buzz-circulation neighborhoods. Items will be published on a space-available basis.

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.