2022 Pet of the Year Contest
BELLAIRE • MEMORIAL • RIVER OAKS • TANGLEWOOD • WEST UNIVERSITY

Cistern Illuminated

This winter, beginning November 25, Buffalo Bayou Partnership is offering a new way to encounter the Buffalo Bayou Park Cistern. Designed by local artist and engineer Kelly O’Brien of Fenris, Cistern Illuminated features undulating lights that provide a unique perspective on this cavernous underground space. The custom temporary lighting will amplify the reservoir’s 221 columns, adding a new dimension to the reflection in the glassy water below.

On view: November 25, 2022 – January 8, 2023
Times: Wednesday through Sunday, every other hour from 11am – 5pm; Fridays every other hour from 11am – 7pm
Tour capacity is 30 people.

Tours of Cistern Illuminated will be punctuated by special performances by the Schola Cantorum of the Co-Cathedral of the Sacred Heart. Learn more about the schedule and purchase tickets here.

Event type: 
Dates: 
Friday, November 25, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, November 26, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, November 27, 2022, 11:00 am
Wednesday, November 30, 2022, 11:00 am
Thursday, December 1, 2022, 11:00 am
Friday, December 2, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, December 3, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, December 4, 2022, 11:00 am
Wednesday, December 7, 2022, 11:00 am
Thursday, December 8, 2022, 11:00 am
Friday, December 9, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, December 10, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, December 11, 2022, 11:00 am
Wednesday, December 14, 2022, 11:00 am
Thursday, December 15, 2022, 11:00 am
Friday, December 16, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, December 17, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, December 18, 2022, 11:00 am
Wednesday, December 21, 2022, 11:00 am
Thursday, December 22, 2022, 11:00 am
Friday, December 23, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, December 24, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, December 25, 2022, 11:00 am
Wednesday, December 28, 2022, 11:00 am
Thursday, December 29, 2022, 11:00 am
Friday, December 30, 2022, 11:00 am
Saturday, December 31, 2022, 11:00 am
Sunday, January 1, 2023, 11:00 am
Wednesday, January 4, 2023, 11:00 am
Thursday, January 5, 2023, 11:00 am
Friday, January 6, 2023, 11:00 am
Saturday, January 7, 2023, 11:00 am
Sunday, January 8, 2023, 11:00 am
Price: 
$10 per person (ages 9 and up only); $2 discount for military, college students and seniors (65+). Free on the first Thursday of the month.
Venue: 
Buffalo Bayou Cistern
Address: 
105b Sabine St.
Houston, TX 77007

To leave a comment, please log in or create an account with The Buzz Magazines, Disqus, Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Or you may post as a guest.